Rotary Club of Alice installed its new officers and directors for the forthcoming year at a recent club meeting. Read more...

With a simple two-word phrase, the Alice Rotary Club swore in new officers for the 2017 – 2018 on Wednesday.

The first officer installed was Gail Hoffman as the rotary’s president.

Hoffman will work with the leadership team to continue entering the club’s goals including service before self into Rotary Club Central.

Rotary International President Elect Ian H.S. Riseley, of the Rotary Club of Sandringham, Victoria, Australia chose a theme of “Rotary: Making a Difference” for this year.

Hoffman began her reign by the installing rotarians as officers: Tessa Carrillo – vice-president, Nena Pitts – president-elect, Linda Avila – secretary, Lane Bowen – treasurer. New Board of Directors were Ted Bearden, Josh Flores and Bruce Hoffman.

Rotarians who attended the Wednesday meeting stood up, rose their right hands to pledge their support to the new officers.

“Your officers and board need and deserve your support, in order to help others, and to promote goodwill and better understanding as we pursue president-elect Riseley’s goal of “Making a Difference,” said Roger Hoffman Jr.

During the meeting, rotarians, Linda Avila, Roger Hoffman Jr., Bruce Hoffman, DeeDee Arismendez and Gilbert Aguirre, with prefect attendance received recognition for their dedication over the years.

The meeting concluded with Dr. Alma Charles, Alice ISD’s new superintendent introducing herself and her mission to the organization.